Skip to main content

Editing Maintenance Plans

Learn here how to edit Maintenance Plans and what consequences this has

Written by Katharina Kos

Basically, you can still edit an active Maintenance Plan after it has been created. This allows you to update all information such as data fields, files, creation rules, associations and the Work Order template. However, please note that the association bundle cannot be changed afterwards.

Note: Maintenance Plans that have already been terminated can no longer be edited.

To make changes, simply click on the respective Maintenance Plan. Don’t forget to save your changes. Unsaved adjustments will be indicated by a visual notice.


When you modify a Maintenance Plan, you can decide what should happen to the most recently generated Work Orders (usually future, pending Work Orders). You have two options:

  • Delete and regenerate the most recently generated Work Orders: The existing Work Orders will be deleted and automatically recreated based on the new changes.

  • Keep the most recently generated Work Orders: The already created Work Orders remain in the system — they will not be adjusted and therefore do not include the changes made to the Maintenance Plan.

As soon as you save your changes and most recently generated Work Orders exist, you will be automatically prompted to choose between these two options.

The following graphic clearly illustrates the two options once again:

Note: Click on the graphic to enlarge it


Briefly explained: When Work Orders have been generated, which are usually still pending and due in the future, you can decide whether these already created Work Orders should be deleted and recreated with the new changes – or if the existing Work Orders should remain in the system as they are.

Important to know: If you make changes to the creation rules in the Maintenance Plan, newly created Work Orders will always have a due date in the future – never in the past. This means, for example, that if a most recently generated Work Order exists with a due date in the past and you decide to delete and recreate it, the new Work Order will receive a future due date based on the new creation rules.

Did this answer your question?